LCU Library: Government Documents: U.S. Documents

U.S. Documents

The library provides access to over 3,000 federal document items in a variety of formats. Items can be found by searching the library's online catalog, LCCat, or browsing the physical holdings on the second floor of the stacks.

Some of the most essential federal documents are available online. These are listed below with links to the content.

US Census Bureau
Ben's Guide to U.S. Government Ben's Guide is a service of the Government Publishing Office (GPO), designed to inform students, parents, and educators about the Federal Government, which issues the publications and information products disseminated by the GPO’s Federal Depository Library Program. SuDoc Number: GP 3.39: Item Number: 0556-C-15 (EL)
Budget of the United States Government The Budget contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications issued throughout the fiscal year. SuDoc Number: PREX 2.8: Item Number: 0853
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance The CFDA lists all Federal programs available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); federally-recognized Indian tribal governments; Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi-public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals. SuDoc Number: PREX 2.20: Item Number: 0853-A-09 (EL)
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or use Advanced Search for more options. SuDoc Number: GP 3.8/8-9: Item Number: 0557-F (EL)
Code of Federal Regulations This is the annual edition of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by departments and agencies of the Federal Government. SuDoc Number: AE 2.106/3: Item Number: 0572-B-01 (EL)
Congressional Directory The official directory of the United States Congress that includes members of the Senate and House, committee members, room and telephone numbers, and officials of the courts. SuDoc Number: Y 4.P 93/1: Item Number: 0992-A-01 (EL)
Congressional Record (Daily) The Congressional Record is the daily official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. SuDoc Number: X 1.1/A: Item Number: 0994-D (EL)
Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation Also known as the Constitution Annotated, it is the legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution based primarily on Supreme Court cases. SuDoc Number: Y 1.1/3: Item Number: 1004-E-02 (EL)
Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents The daily and weekly compilations of the Presidential documents are the official publication of material released by the White House Press Secretary. SuDoc Number: AE 2.109: Item Number: 0577-A (EL)
Economic Indicators Published monthly by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee, Economic Indicators provide economic information on GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, and more. SuDoc Number: Y 4.EC 7:EC 7/ Item Number: 0997-A (EL)
Economic Report of the President An annual report which gives an overview of the nation’s economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. SuDoc Number: PR 44.9: Item Number: 0848-F-03 (EL)
Federal Register (Daily) The daily publication of the rules, proposed rules, and notices of the Federal agencies and organizations along with executive orders. SuDoc Number: AE 2.106: Item Number: 0573-F (EL)
Govinfo Govinfo provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the federal government. SuDoc Number: GP 3.43/2: Item Number: 0556-C-18 (EL)
Occupational Outlook Handbook The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a resource for occupational and career information, providing profiles on a majority of jobs in the United States. Profiles describe the work environment, education and training needed, ten year outlook, and median pay for workers. SuDoc Number: L 2.3/4: Item Number: 0768-D-02 (EL)
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States The official publication of the President’s addresses, writings, and remarks. SuDoc Number: AE 2.114: Item Number: 0574-A-02 (EL)
Social Security Handbook The resource for all Social Security questions. SuDoc Number: SSA 1.8/3: Item Number: 0516-C-03 (EL)
United States Code The permanent and general laws of the United States are divided by broad subjects into fifty-one titles. SuDoc Number: Y 1.2/5: Item Number: 0991-A-01 (EL)
United States Government Manual This is the official handbook provided by the federal government on the agencies of the three branches of government. SuDoc Number: AE 2.108/2: Item Number: 0577-A-01 (EL)
United States Reports Contains the Supreme Court’s opinions. SuDoc Number: JU 6.8: Item Number: 0741-A (EL)
United States Statutes at Large The United States Statutes at Large containing the permanent laws – public and private – that were enacted during each session of Congress. SuDoc Number: AE 2.111: Item Number: 0576-A (EL)

Government Documents: U.S. Documents

Public Access Hours

U.S. Documents