If you need assistance with your research, Elizabeth Parish, Director of Library Services is available to help you.
Click here to schedule an appointment - in person or online.
Send her an email: elizabeth.parish@lcuniversity.edu
Drop by her office:
Monday - Thursday 8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Friday: 8:00 am - 11:30 am
Interlibrary loan (ILL) provides current students, faculty, and staff the opportunity to obtain books, journal articles, and other resource materials that are not available through the library's collections. ILL allows the library to supplement its collections and enhance research opportunities.
Before submitting an ILL request, carefully check existing resources on the library website.
Notes:
When accessing licensed online resources from off-campus, you must verify that you are affiliated with the college. This is accomplished through authentication via EZproxy. Before you are passed through to the resource you wish to access, you will be directed to this screen:
The username and password are the same credentials you use to access the network on campus. Typically, the username follows the pattern firstname.lastname. For example: john.doe
Do not include the email suffix "@lcuniversity.edu."
Use the same password you use for logging onto the campus network.
Once you have authenticated, you have access to the same resources and functionalities as you would on campus.
Before you begin your assignment, you will need to understand the basic information about your topic. This will help you better search the databases for scholarly articles. Two excellent sources for this basic information or pre-research are:
Don't rely on Google for your research. Try using these academic search engines instead, however it's your responsibility to make sure the articles you find are peer-reviewed.
Enter the following to search by domain and your topic and your research will be only from domains you trust.
Written by experts in the field and reviewed prior to publishing by other experts in their field.
1. Limit the database search to peer-reviewed only.
2. Look for these terms in the article:
3. Check the journal's official website to see if it is peer-reviewed.
4. See your professor or the librarian.
MLA Handbook by
The MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more.
