LCU Library: Allied Health Research Quickstart: Introduction

Introduction

This guide directs you to essential library resources to use in your research. Use the Articles, Books & E-Books tabs in this guide to find resources specific to this category.

QUICK SEARCH

Books: To search for physical books and eBooks owned by the library, you can search from the library catalog link below:

LCU LIBRARY CATALOG.

Articles: If you would like to do a general search for articles, you can access it through the search box below.

PTA Research Guide

PTA Research Guide
Step by step guide with instructions to search the library's database, EBSCOhost, campus logins, Interlibrary Loan Requests and more.

Articles

You can do a general search using EBSCO Discover Services (EDS) to find articles for all categories as well as books in the library collection.

EDS

Search these databases for articles in academic journals, magazines, and newspapers specific to Allied Health..

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
The world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Books & E-Books

LCCat This link opens in a new window
The Louisiana Christian University Library's online catalog.
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.

Reference

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Credo Online Reference Service This link opens in a new window
Credo Online Reference Service enhances the research experience by combining authoritative reference content with a one-stop exploratory search platform that drives usage of all trusted library resources.

Citation Help

APA Formatting

ALWAYS cite your sources, whether you summarize, paraphrase, or directly quote them. Failing to do so is plagiarism, which is a serious academic offense with serious consequences.

The library has several physical copies of the Publication manual of the American Psychological Association : the official guide to APA Style, in the Reference Section for use in the library. It is a reference work, which means it must be used in the library. A coin-operated copy machine is available in the library, should you wish to make copies of relevant sections of the manual.

There are also free online resources available.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: 3HR BF 76.7 .P83 2020
ISBN: 9781433832161
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
In addition to providing guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, this manual offers an authoritative reference and citation system. It also covers the treatment of numbers, statistical and mathematical data, tables and figures.

APA Reference Lists
Produced by the library, this guide provides examples of commonly-used source types formatted for inclusion in a reference list.
APA Style Blog
The APA Style Blog is the official companion to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Sixth Edition. It's run by a group of experts who work with APA Style every day. We publish weekly posts to talk about what we love—writing, publishing, and APA Style. We explore what APA Style is and how it works in a variety of areas, including reference citations of every sort, grammar and usage, the publication process, and social media.
Purdue Online Writing Center (OWL)
Citation Generator powered by Citation Machine

Writing Center

If you would like help with your writing, visit the College's Writing Center.

The Writing Center

Library Help

Elizabeth Parish

Email Me

Contact:

Box 601
1140 College Drive
Pineville, LA 71359

318-487-7110