When searching in GVRL, use the advanced search option. Place the lifespan stage in quotes (e.g., "childhood development"). Limit your search to the social science collection.
In LCCat, you can use the advanced search (click the link labeled "More Search Options") to search for the theorist as a subject in order to learn more about the theorist, or as an author to locate works written by the theorist.
Below are a few useful books found in LCCat. These are particularly useful to help you identify additional sources for use in part two.
-
Human Growth and Development Across the Lifespan
by
Mark D. Stauffer (Editor); David Capuzzi (Editor)
A practically focused guide to effective counseling of all clients Human Development Across the Life Span is a practical guide to human growth and development, moving beyond theory to include real-world applications for counselors who work with clients. Written by recognized authorities in mental health counseling and counselor education, this book is fully aligned with the American Counseling Association's accreditation standards and includes contributions by well-known and respected academics and practitioners. Based on an extensive review of course syllabi across CACREP-accredited programs, this book is organized to follow the way courses are typically taught and follows a consistent structure including pedagogical elements that help students learn. After a thorough examination of essential concepts and theories of life span development, the book moves through each stage of human growth and development to provide expert insight, short case studies, and practical applications to counseling. The full Instructor's package provides a useful set of tools, including a Respondus test bank, PowerPoint slides, and an Instructor's Manual. This book is the only text on human growth and development that emphasizes the key implications and applications for counselors, providing useful information and the insights of real experts in each subject area. Understand the developmental milestones at each life stage Appreciate clients' perspectives to better facilitate appropriate interventions Work more effectively with clients of any age, from toddlers to seniors Tailor your approach to meet the unique needs and abilities of each life stage As a counselor, you cannot approach a child's therapy the same way you approach an adult's. Even within each major category, each developmental stage includes a nuanced set of characteristics that, considered appropriately, will inform a more effective treatment plan. Human Development Across the Life Span is a comprehensive guide to understanding all of your clients, and providing the type of counseling that facilitates more positive outcomes.
ISBN: 9781118984741
Publication Date: 2016-02-10
-
Handbook of the Psychology of Religion and Spirituality, Second Edition
by
Raymond F. Paloutzian (Editor); Crystal L. Park (Editor)
Widely regarded as the definitive reference, this volume comprehensively examines the psychological processes associated with religion and spirituality. Leading scholars from multiple psychological subdisciplines present developmental, cognitive, social psychological, cultural, and clinical perspectives on this core aspect of human experience. The forms and functions of religious practices and rituals, conversion experiences, and spiritual struggles are explored. Other key topics include religion as a meaning system, religious influences on prosocial and antisocial behavior, and connections to health, coping, and psychotherapy. New to This Edition *Two chapters on cross-cultural issues. *Chapters on spiritual goals, emotional values, and mindfulness. *Reflects significant theoretical and empirical developments in the field. *Many new authors and extensively revised chapters. *Robust index amplifies the volume's usefulness as a reference tool.
ISBN: 9781299545786
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Human Growth and Development Across the Lifespan
by
A practically focused guide to effective counseling of all clients Human Development Across the Life Span is a practical guide to human growth and development, moving beyond theory to include real-world applications for counselors who work with clients. Written by recognized authorities in mental health counseling and counselor education, this book is fully aligned with the American Counseling Association's accreditation standards and includes contributions by well-known and respected academics and practitioners. Based on an extensive review of course syllabi across CACREP-accredited programs, this book is organized to follow the way courses are typically taught and follows a consistent structure including pedagogical elements that help students learn. After a thorough examination of essential concepts and theories of life span development, the book moves through each stage of human growth and development to provide expert insight, short case studies, and practical applications to counseling. The full Instructor's package provides a useful set of tools, including a Respondus test bank, PowerPoint slides, and an Instructor's Manual. This book is the only text on human growth and development that emphasizes the key implications and applications for counselors, providing useful information and the insights of real experts in each subject area. Understand the developmental milestones at each life stage Appreciate clients' perspectives to better facilitate appropriate interventions Work more effectively with clients of any age, from toddlers to seniors Tailor your approach to meet the unique needs and abilities of each life stage As a counselor, you cannot approach a child's therapy the same way you approach an adult's. Even within each major category, each developmental stage includes a nuanced set of characteristics that, considered appropriately, will inform a more effective treatment plan. Human Development Across the Life Span is a comprehensive guide to understanding all of your clients, and providing the type of counseling that facilitates more positive outcomes.
Handbook of the Psychology of Religion and Spirituality, Second Edition
by
Widely regarded as the definitive reference, this volume comprehensively examines the psychological processes associated with religion and spirituality. Leading scholars from multiple psychological subdisciplines present developmental, cognitive, social psychological, cultural, and clinical perspectives on this core aspect of human experience. The forms and functions of religious practices and rituals, conversion experiences, and spiritual struggles are explored. Other key topics include religion as a meaning system, religious influences on prosocial and antisocial behavior, and connections to health, coping, and psychotherapy. New to This Edition *Two chapters on cross-cultural issues. *Chapters on spiritual goals, emotional values, and mindfulness. *Reflects significant theoretical and empirical developments in the field. *Many new authors and extensively revised chapters. *Robust index amplifies the volume's usefulness as a reference tool.