Journal Articles - SW 380 - Social Work Practice III, Organizations and Communities - LCU Library at Louisiana Christian University

Databases

Assignment instructions:

Please include a minimum of 6-8 peer reviewed journal articles with at least 5 of these being within the last 5-7 years.

Abstracts in Social Gerontology This link opens in a new window
This bibliographic database makes essential age-related content available to researchers of gerontology. Those interested in geriatrics will benefit from this resource, which includes records covering areas in geriatric studies.
Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Family Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 53,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
Health & Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new window
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.
Legal Source This link opens in a new window
Legal Source is an excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, and others involved with the law. Providing full-text coverage of the world's most respected scholarly law journals, Legal Source is the authoritative source for information on current issues, studies and trends in the legal world. The collection includes over 1,200 full-text journals and over 2.5 million records, including book reviews and case citations. Legal Source offers information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical law, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment.
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The PsycINFO database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
Violence & Abuse Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Violence & Abuse Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

NOTE: These databases can be search simultaneously by selecting the "Choose Databases" link just above the topmost search box. Be sure to use the date and document type (i.e. article) limiting functions, as well as the peer reviewed/scholarly check box.

SW 380 - Social Work Practice III, Organizations and Communities: Journal Articles

Publication Finder

Databases